How To View, Display, Manage, and Remove, Delete Saved Password In Google Chrome?


Google Chrome browser provides the Password Manager in order to save and reused usernames, passwords, or credentials for different web sites. Today a typical user has a lot of accounts and passwords for different web sites, web applications or services, and remembering or typing them again and again very trivial task. Google Chrome Password manager provides the ability to save, list, remove, update, and manage site user names and passwords easily. Google Chrome Password Manager is a built-in feature that doesn’t require extra plugin or any software installation. Password Manager also provided by Android and iOS Chrome browsers which can be used to save, list, remove, and manage passwords in these smartphones, tablets, and mobile devices.

Open Password Manager

Google Chrome Password Manager can be opened in different ways. But the most practical and easy way is using the Profile icon on the right upper corner. Then clicking to the key symbol which will open the password manager. there is no need to sign in Google Chrome with a Google Account in order to store or list saved passwords. The Guest account can be used to save and list passwords where they will be saved into the current computer or smartphone. Alternatively, chrome://settings/passwords address can be typed into the address bar which will open directly to the password manager. Another alternative is using the Google Chrome Menu -> Settings -> Autofill Category and Password steps.

Open Password Manager

Save Password

Passwords can be saved easily when we login into an account for different domains, websites, web applications etc. Google Chrome offers saving the password for the future use automatically which is enabled by default. We can see below that when we login into the Gmail, Google Chrome asks to save password with the user name. We will just click to the Save button like below.

Save Password

By default, if we to not logged in with a user for Google Chrome passwords are stored locally but if we have logged in for Google Chrome we can sync and backup these save passwords by click to the Turn on sync button like below. This will store and backup our save passwords on our Google Account which is already logged in for Google Chrome.

Syn and Backup Save Password To Google Account

List Saved Password, Websites, Usernames

Saved passwords are listed below the password manager page on the Saved Passwords part. Information about the saved passwords is provided on this list. Website, Username, and Password information are provided where the password is not shown as cleartext. The same site may have multiple user/password or credentials. Also, the search box named Search Passwords in the right upper corner can be used to search in the list of saved passwords according to website and username. This can be especially useful for a bunch of saved passwords.

List Saved Password, Websites, Usernames

Show Saved Password As Cleartext

Password manager uses the passwords as cleartext and should store them securely by encyrpting from the cleartext and then reading as cleartext to use in the feature. By default the saved passwords are listed as masked or hidden but we can show the password clearly in cleartext. The eye symbol next to the masked password will show the password as cleartext like below.

Show Saved Password As Cleartext

Remove Saved Password

If we do not need or want to remove the saved password we can delete it easily. We will use the three horizantel dot menu icon which will open the following menu where we will click to the Remove button. This will remove the selected and saved password.

Remove Saved Password

Disable or Do Not Offer Password Save

Even it is a great feature we may not use a password save feature. We can disable the save password offer which will not ask us to save the provided password automatically. In the password manager screen just disable the Offer to save passwords features by disabling the slider like below.

Disable or Do Not Offer Password Save

Enable or Disable Auto Sign-in with Saved Passwords

By default, the saved passwords are used to auto-sign-in when we navigate to the given site. We can disable this feature from the Password Management screen like below by disabling the Auto Sign-in feature. If disabled, you will be asked for confirmation every time before signing in to a website.

Enable or Disable Auto-Sign-in with Saved Passwords

Check Saved Passwords Security Against Data Breaches

Google Chrome Password Manager provides a very useful feature that is used to check our saved passwords against the data breaches. As today there are a lot of different accounts related to different services, web sites, etc. and regularly different services and web sites user information is breached under the name of the Data Breach. Data Breach is a serious security incident. There are some services in order to check data breach where Chrome Password Manager can automatically use these services to check our existing and saved accounts and passwords. The password is not shared with these data breach services and checked in a secure manner.

Check Saved Passwords Security Against Data Breaches

LEARN MORE  How To Clear/Delete Android Google Chrome History?

Leave a Comment